Book Summary: Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell

Then She Was Gone by Lisa Jewell
Published in July, 2017

Summary on Goodreads:

She was fifteen, her mother’s golden girl. She had her whole life ahead of her. And then, in the blink of an eye, Ellie was gone.

It’s been ten years since Ellie disappeared, but Laurel has never given up hope of finding her daughter.

And then one day a charming and charismatic stranger called Floyd walks into a café and sweeps Laurel off her feet.

Before too long she’s staying the night at this house and being introduced to his nine year old daughter.

Poppy is precocious and pretty – and meeting her completely takes Laurel’s breath away.

Because Poppy is the spitting image of Ellie when she was that age. And now all those unanswered questions that have haunted Laurel come flooding back.

What happened to Ellie? Where did she go?

Who still has secrets to hide?

Want to refresh your memory on the story? Here’s a chapter-by-chapter summary of what happens in ‘Then She Was Gone’ by Lisa Jewell without divulging critical plot points:

Chapter 1: Fifteen-year-old Ellie Mack disappears without a trace, devastating her family, particularly her mother, Laurel.

Chapter 2: Ten years later, Laurel meets Floyd and is intrigued by his daughter, Poppy, who bears a resemblance to Ellie.

Chapter 3: Laurel agrees to a date with Floyd while Ellie’s absence continues to cast a shadow over her other children, Hanna and Jake.

Chapter 4: Laurel becomes suspicious of Floyd’s ex-wife, Sarah, and investigates his past, uncovering a connection to Noelle Donnelly.

Chapter 5: Laurel’s suspicions about Floyd deepen, leading to a confrontation, and she confides in her estranged husband, Paul.

Chapter 6: Laurel shares her discoveries about Floyd and Noelle with DI Kate Waters, who takes an interest in the case.

Chapter 7: DI Waters uncovers unsettling information about Floyd and Noelle, revealing a web of deceit surrounding Ellie’s disappearance.

Chapter 8: The investigation intensifies as DI Waters uncovers more disturbing details, bringing her closer to the truth.

Chapter 9: Laurel’s determination grows as she risks her own safety to delve deeper into Floyd’s past, uncovering shocking secrets.

Chapter 10: DI Waters and Laurel join forces to uncover the mystery, gathering evidence that inches them closer to a horrifying truth.

Chapter 11: The truth about Ellie’s fate is finally revealed, exposing a chilling series of events that no one could have anticipated.

Chapter 12: In the aftermath of the shocking revelation, Laurel must rebuild her life and come to terms with the loss of her daughter.

Chapter 13: Laurel grapples with the emotional aftermath and seeks solace in her relationships with her remaining children.

Chapter 14: The past continues to haunt Laurel as she struggles with feelings of guilt and the desire for closure.

Chapter 15: Laurel faces unexpected challenges as she tries to rebuild relationships with her estranged family.

Chapter 16: DI Waters delves deeper into the circumstances surrounding Ellie’s disappearance, uncovering more shocking revelations.

Chapter 17: Laurel’s pursuit of the truth leads her to confront those responsible for Ellie’s disappearance.

Chapter 18: Laurel uncovers a diary that sheds light on Ellie’s mindset before her disappearance, bringing more clarity to the case.

Chapter 19: DI Waters discovers a vital piece of evidence that adds a new layer of complexity to the investigation.

Chapter 20: Laurel comes face-to-face with someone from her past, leading to a dramatic confrontation.

Chapter 21: DI Waters races against time to gather evidence and uncover the full truth about Ellie’s disappearance.

Chapter 22: Laurel grapples with her own emotions and struggles to make sense of the events that unfolded.

Chapter 23: DI Waters pieces together the final details of Ellie’s disappearance, uncovering a shocking motive.

Chapter 24: The truth about Ellie’s fate is revealed to Laurel, forcing her to confront the devastating reality.

Chapter 25: Laurel must find a way to move forward and find closure, coming to terms with the loss of her daughter.

Chapter 26: The story concludes with a sense of healing and resolution as Laurel embarks on a new chapter of her life.

Have you read the book? What did you think about it? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *